The Abell

The Abell

Print

Project Profile

Number of Units:
30
Former Use:
Industrial
Current Use:
Residential Luxury Loft, Retail and Commercial
Amenities:
Entraguard Access, Onsite Laundry Facilities, Public Transportation Access
Size:
55,000 sf
Acquired:
2006
Retail Tenants:
M&T Bank
Javascript is required to view this map.
Location:
1 South Eutaw Street
Baltimore, MD 21201

 

Widely considered one of Baltimore's finest remaining historic buildings, The Abell was designed in 1879 by architect George A. Frederick and built by A.S. Abell, the owner of The Baltimore Sun, as an investment property. This impressive Italianate 6-story building was constructed from a blend of Baltimore brick, bluestone, white marble, cast iron and terra cotta.

 

After serving for generations as a double warehouse for the clothing and printing industries, as well as an insurance office space, The Abell sat unoccupied and deteriorating for many years. During that time, plans to rehabilitate the building were delayed to the point where some worried that the building would be unsalvageable.

 

PMC stepped in and successfully converted this historic structure into 30 luxury residential apartments above 12,000 square feet of ground-floor retail space. Apartment finishes include designer kitches, refinished original hardwood floors, 11-foot ceilings, oversized historic windows and restored original finishes throughout.

 

This redevelopment is estimated to have created more than 135 temporary construction jobs and 40 new full-time permanent jobs. It is also considered an instrumental element in the renaissance of the surrounding theatre and commercial districts in downtown Baltimore's west side, contributing to the area's diversity and livability.